Science, Technology and Innovation Cooperation
Between Sub-Saharan Africa and Europe

Call for Applications: AWARD Fellowships

Call for Applications: AWARD Fellowships

Call for Applications: AWARD Fellowships

African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) is offering fellowships to top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa.

Published on

AWARD is a career-development programme that offers top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa the chance to strengthen their research and leadership skills through tailored, two-year fellowships.

Fellows stay in their institutions, continue their research, and travel to AWARD training courses held in various locations in Africa.

Citizens of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree, particularly in the disciplines listed below, are eligible to apply. There is no age restriction.

(Women from francophone countries are not eligible to apply for the 2014 AWARD Fellowship call for applications, but AWARD hopes to offer a full Francophone Fellowship program in the near future.)

  • Agricultural economics
  • Ecology
  • Molecular biology (plant/animal breeding)
  • Agricultural engineering
  • Entomology
  • Natural resources management
  • Agronomy
  • Extension education
  • Plant/animal virology
  • Animal and livestock sciences
  • Food science and nutrition
  • Soil science
  • Aquatic resources and fisheries
  • Forestry and agroforestry
  • Veterinary sciences
  • Biodiversity conservation
  • Horticulture
  • Water and irrigation management
  • Crop science


Fellowships are awarded on the basis of intellectual merit, leadership capacity, and the potential of the scientist’s research to improve the livelihoods of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women.

Applicants have until August 9, 2013 to apply for an AWARD Fellowship.

For more information, or to download application forms or guidelines, click here. 

[Image credit: Flickr, Icrisat Images]

CAAST-Net Plus is funded by the European Union's Seventh Framework Programme under grant agreement 311806
Image alt tag Image alt tag